fbpx
Close
We Unleash the Merciless Storm | Review

Author

Genre

Publisher

Representation

“I’m thrilled I have a series about a girl who is desperately in love with another girl so much that she would move heaven and Earth for her.” This book broke me apart and put me back together. Thank you Tehlor Kay Mejia for weaving such a rich story about love, rebellion, and hope.

This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale. I encourage you to shop from your local Indie bookstore which you can do from IndieBound. 

Genre

Representation

Publisher

Content Warnings

It’s here! “We Unleash the Merciless Storm” by Tehlor Kay Mejia is here and I’m so ready to talk about it. If you haven’t read my review for “We Set the Dark on Fire” do that first here!

This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale. I encourage you to shop from your local Indie bookstore which you can do from IndieBound.

  • We Unleash the Merciless Storm by Tehlor Kay Mejia
  • Series We Set the Dark on Fire Duology
  • Genre Fantasy, YA, Dystopian
  • Representation LGBT+, Latinx, wlw
  • Publisher Katherine Tegen Books (HarperCollins)
  • Goodreads
  • Buy Barnes and Noble, Indiebound, Book Depository
  • CW: Blood, Death, Violence, Attempted sexual assault, Bullying, Car accident, Gun violence, Homophobia

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Synopsis

In this nail-biting sequel to Tehlor Kay Mejia’s critically acclaimed fantasy novel We Set the Dark on Fire, La Voz operative Carmen is forced to choose between the girl she loves and the success of the rebellion she’s devoted her life to. Perfect for fans of The Handmaid’s Tale and Anna-Marie McLemore.

Being a part of the resistance group La Voz is an act of devotion and desperation. On the other side of Medio’s border wall, the oppressed class fights for freedom and liberty, sacrificing what little they have to become defenders of the cause.

Carmen Santos is one of La Voz’s best soldiers. She spent years undercover, but now, with her identity exposed and the island on the brink of a civil war, Carmen returns to the only real home she’s ever known: La Voz’s headquarters.

There she must reckon with her beloved leader, who is under the influence of an aggressive new recruit, and with the devastating news that her true love might be the target of an assassination plot. Will Carmen break with her community and save the girl who stole her heart—or fully embrace the ruthless rebel she was always meant to be?

Goodreads

Review

“We Unleash the Merciless Storm” by Tehlor Kay Mejia came out last week. I have been waiting for this book for a year guys! And yes, I did read it in under 24 hours. 

This book, this series, is incredible. As soon as my to-be-read pile in under control I’m doing a full reread because–damn! Tehlor Kay Mejia is a brilliant author and my new favorite author at this point. I’ve been a fan since her short story in “Toil and Trouble: 15 Tales of Women in Witchcraft.” All her stories are packed with her voice as a queer, witchy, Lantix women in ways that tug at my heartstrings. 

Her descriptions are rich in a refreshing sort of way. I feel like I’m Carmen on the ground in the grit. I feel like I can suddenly throw knives. I feel rebellious. 

There are aspects of her writing that I will never understand from my own life. I’m white, I was born in the US, I am privileged in those aspects. But I’m also queer, and a woman, and pagan. I have friends and in-laws who were not born in the US. I have Latinx friends who are thrilled they get a whole world in Tehlor’s books that is not white-washed. That shows their stories and traditions. 

I’m thrilled I have a series about a girl who is desperately in love with another girl so much that she would move Heaven and Earth for her. My heart breaks and knits itself back together for Carmen and Dani because I see me and Josie in them. I see our love reflected back at me from the pages because “We Unleash the Merciless Storm is a story” about love.

I’m so proud of Tehlor for delivering such a diverse story that I think anyone could find a piece of themselves in and by that avenue begin to understand and empathize with the parts they don’t see themselves reflected in. I think this series should be taught in schools, I think it could change the world to those who open their hearts. 

I also think her series is groundbreaking and historical. A Latinx, queer novel about destroying the patriarchy in a society where no one is white and people are separated by a wall… this was published by HarperTeen, a MAJOR publisher. These two books set a precedent for the industry and for aspiring authors like me who have asked ourselves if we will ever get published because we’re told there’s not a market for our brand of minority. Well, Tehlor Kay has proved them wrong and blazed a trail for all of us with a story to tell. 

Thank you Carmen, Dani, and Tehlor for giving us a voice.

What did you think of We Unleash the Merciless Storm? Sound off below!

Be sure to check out my socials for more daily content here:

If you can check out my Patreon. It helps out a lot:

Become a Patron!

Subscribe

* indicates required
/ ( mm / dd )

Be sure to check out my socials for more content: 

I also have a Patreon and every little bit helps out: 

And be sure to check out my newsletter:

Subscribe

* indicates required
More Posts
Comments

One Comment on “We Unleash the Merciless Storm | Review

[…] [Read my reviews of We Set the Dark on Fire and We Unleash the Merciless Storm.] […]

Reply

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: